Autopsy, windows image and no data

Apr 23, 2019
Ratings
Hello,

I'm new to forensics and I'm performing some tests with Autopsy and a Windows dump image.

It's a challenge. I am supposed to find relevant info. That's what I have found so far:

- $Logfile, $MFT and orphaned files.
- 2 JPG images.
- 2 txt files with the same name. One of them deleted and the other undeleted. Both with a size of 0 bytes and empty.
- A MS Word document password protected.

I have analyzed all the metadata, and the hex content of every file, but I can't find a clue. I have also digged into the images to see if there is any message hidden in them.
I think that maybe the text that once existed in the txts might help, but I am not able to recover it.

The data HAS to be somewhere, as it's a challenge. But I am lost. ¿Can you point me somewhere or shed some light on this?

Many thanks in advance!

BIOS

Oct 30, 2018
Ratings
Well...I'm a bit rusty on this, but my suggestion is you check the $MFT for contents of your missing text files. If the txt file was small enough, the entire contents may have been stored there. Even thought the file is deleted, it may still exist in the MFT slack.

To refresh my memory, I did a quick google search and found the following which lined up with what I was thinking & is a better explanation than I would've come up with.

-----------------------------

What is resident data? Resident data is when the data for a file is within the MFT entry, rather than out in the rest of the file system.
Non-resident data is the exact opposite.
As the MFT entry is, as standard 1024 bytes long, and the metadata about the file, name, dates, etc, takes up around 500 bytes of space this means that there is 500 bytes of space in the MFT to describe the location of the file (i.e the data run). However if the file is less than 500 bytes (common examples are cookies) then the file system will place the file inside the MFT, rather than using data runs to decribe where it is.