For the Forensic Pro

Contribute to the community and build up your resume

Contribute to this forum by helping to moderate and answer questions.

If interested, please contact us at forum@ComputerForensicsWorld.com

Erik

Feb 1, 2009
I am a 3rd year college student working on my BA in Software Engineering. Once I get done with my degree, I want to join the world of Law Enforcement. I have always dreamed of being in the FBI or CIA or any other law enforcement agency. My question is where do I start after my degree? I know that I need certifications and further education but is it better to join a school or self study for the exams? The schooling that I found cost about $3000. I am willing to spend the money on my career but as a working father,husband, and full time student with a huge student loan already, the cheaper the better. I was also wondering if a computer forensics analysist carries a weapon when going on scene? I want to be active in the crime department and not just someone sitting behind a desk all of the time. I thought about joining the PD as an officer but I want the investigation of computers also. Any help will be appreciated.

uzdcar

Jan 12, 2009
You've been watching too much TV :) I've never known anyone in forensics to carry a weapon or spend much time away from their desk. This is probably not the right career for you. However, there are times where you'll be with officers who will secure a scene; but you won't be anywhere near the action. Forensics is a support role. What you could do is continue to expand your knowledge of forensics in order to make yourself a better, more knowledgeable, investigator. And the CIA - despite what many people think - it's nothing but a desk job. Go to law school, join the FBI, and have some fun.

Erik

Feb 1, 2009