FTK Imager

Status
This thread has been solved! Go to solution…

sjc502

Jul 17, 2019
I am relatively new to digital forensics and I am having problems obtaining an image of a laptop. I have FTK imager and a laptop that needs imaging. However, we do not have the windows password for it. I do however have access to the BitLocker password to decrypt it if necessary.

However, I am not able to obtain an image of the computer at this time. The FTK Imager manual and guide show you how to do it from windows but not when you don't actually have the password in the first place.

Is anyone able to advise how I am able to image the computer without a windows password?

Thank you,

kalinko

Oct 27, 2018
Ratings
Germany
bebinary4n6.blogspot.com
Twitter
https://twitter.com/inko6nito
Hey sjc502,

just short: When I read your post/question I understand it in the following way: You want to boot this laptop, log in (if you would have the password) and than create an image of the disk. Please don't do it this way. The moment you boot the system you change data. The moment you login in to the system you change even more data. And you , as for as i know (never tested it), would not be able to create a full physical copy of the system disk when the system is active. If I understood your post wrong than nevermind.

Now to your question (for imaging it is not important if there is Bitlocker enabled or not):

1. Remove the Hard Disk from the machine (in your case from the laptop). Because you are relatively new to the field I just want to mention: Make pictures of the Laptop and the Hard Disk! Documentation is very important!
2. Attach this Hard Disk WRITE_BLOCKED to a PC where FTK Imager is installed or can be run.
3. Create the image of the hard disk like explained in the manual of the FTK Imager.

After that you'll have an image of the hard disk from the laptop.