Help needed, encrypted files

Al1678

Dec 29, 2006
Gents

I've just really started in computer forensics, by trade I'm an ethical hacker, but one of my clients has asked me to investigate misuse of their network. The suspect in question has already been dismissed for his offence, but the company are trying to find out a) how long he was abusing the system; b) whether he carried out any other actions, possibly criminal in nature nd c) how he did what he did and d) what can be done to prevent further occurrences.

Now C & D I've got sorted, somehow the suspect in question got access to the main server and created a hidden adminstrator account in active directory. I've just recommended a general tightening up of the security proceduers, the system admins had become a little lax in their application of security.

Now A & B, I've imaged the hard drive and examined the data on it using Encase 4.2. I've found details showing evidence of file transfers for several weeks. Part of these were over the network to another computer, where the files were encrypted, I presume the suspect took copies, but put the files there in case his computer was searched. However, a network admin in a desire to impress his boss for efficiency went and deleted the suspects active directory account from the server, now I cannot access the encrypted files.

Can anyone think of a way round this, other than trying to crack the encryption?

Thanks in advance

Al

wilber999

Jun 24, 2006
Is the folder encrypted with Microsoft EFS? If so, the doman administrator can create recovery keys. google "Microsoft EFS administrator recovery key"

Al1678

Dec 29, 2006
Cheers

That's what I thought, but the network admin said he couldn't do that.

Oh well just go tell the boss his people don't know their stuff I suppose- doesn't surprise me after seeing the vulnerability of their system.

Happy new year to you all

Al

Al1678

Dec 29, 2006
Cheers