Log Analysis with SANS SIFT

Apr 18, 2019
I am fairly new to forensic but it's a very interesting Topic and you've got to start somewhere.
I recently downloaded and updated SANS SIFT (currently running in HyperV).
Just to get started I wanted to analyse my Firewall and OpenVPN Logs of the last 30 days.
Now I am looking for a tool to help me with this task - maybe filter the Logdata and point out
abnormalities or potential threats. I watched SANS SIFT tutorial videos and started reading the docs
but most of the time they analyse Memory Dumps or pcaps - but no "simple" log data.

(I searched the forum if somebody had this question before and I am starting to think, that I am missing
something fundamental - but as my teacher always said:"Better start asking question to the right people
or you'll stay just as stupid as you are" ... so here I am, asking stupid questions)

Best Regards

athulin

Experienced Member
Oct 18, 2007
Ratings
You're asking about analyzing logs ... what logs, more exactly, are you referring to? Windows event logs? Unix logs? Something else, specific to the type of firewall? (OpenVPN is specific enough.)