Open Source and free EnCase like tools?

fantr

Jan 14, 2008
I am new to forensics and would like to play around with some of the different tools available. I can not afford EnCase. What free tools are available that you would recommend which are similar to EnCase?

Are there demo versions of EnCase available that give you the ability to use the product for educational purposes?

Thanks in advance!

Prickaerts

Administrator
Jan 2, 2006
Hi Fantr,

Have a look at Helix, it's a bootable linux distribution with sleuthkit/Autopsy included. It will take some time to get started if not familiar with Linux, but free and versatile.

FTK has a 5000 items demo-mode. You can not investigate a full installation of most any operating system, but a simple USB stick can be used to check out the program/functionality.

It might be that Encase has an educational license fee, but I suspect that to still be fairly costly.

FTK-imager is a free download of Accessdata. you can use it for both imaging and simple analysis tasks (exporting of files included).

Chris

RobertR

Jun 3, 2007
there is not much for free that is really encase or FTK like..... probably the best free tool is Sluethkit /Autopsy combination. you can run it in most environments including Windows via Cygwin.

Sep 2, 2004
fantr said:
I am new to forensics and would like to play around with some of the different tools available. I can not afford EnCase. What free tools are available that you would recommend which are similar to EnCase?

Are there demo versions of EnCase available that give you the ability to use the product for educational purposes?
Yes, there are. Stephen Bunting's EnCE Study Guide book has a DVD with a limited version of EnCase meant to be used with the files on the DVD.

However, there are other options, as well...on the commercial side, TechPathways offers a Basic version of ProDiscover for free.