Pirating Intellectual Property: Cyber Crimes?

ramajama

Feb 26, 2007
Hey everybody, I need some help understanding this computer forensics stuff.

I am a law enforcement student in Minnesota and have to do a presentation over Pirating Intellectual Property for a Cyber Crimes class. I am focusing on dowloading illegal music and the like and am wondering how you guys go through computers and track things like this. If anyone has any info or advice for me that would great.

Thanks

cyrpt6y78

Feb 12, 2007
I am a newbie here and when I read your post I thought only the Music companies went after people downloading music. I remember reading years ago The RIAA used Kazaa and when they found people sharing thousands of songs they went after them civil court. I know the P2P network is big but I can only remember a couple of convictions of copyright infringement. And they were big time players, the ones who were selling thousands of dvds and cds.

I am not in law enforcement but I do not think the local police have the time or even care about people downloading music. They do go after local stores that sell dvds and cds in their back rooms.

There was a big bust a few months ago when I believe the FBI brought down a big setup of "cammers" people that go into the movies and record new movies and put them up on the internet. It was a very elaborate setup I do not remember all the details but I am sure you can google it.

cyrpt6y78

Feb 12, 2007