Resources for Forensics Case Studies

Bregan

Feb 19, 2007
Hi Everyone,

I'm am pretty new in the forensics line. Currently i am studying for my degree in computer forensics. I would like to know if there are any available resources on the internet which can provide me with a few case studies as well as maybe digital evidence (file images) for me to do my own analysis.
can anyone provide me with any info? I would also appreciate it if someone could load me up with a couple of useful resources regarding forensics.

thanks!

Prickaerts

Administrator
Jan 2, 2006
Hi Bregan,

It's difficult to find actual cases online, due to possible sensitive material and/or privacy related issues.

Have a look at the Honeynet project, there are several challenges involving forensic research:
honeynet.org/challenge/index.html

Cheers,

Chris

WO

Jan 14, 2007
There is a floppy image you can play with as a sample for the CCE exam at certified-computer-examiner.com/cce-samp.htm that I found fun to play with. Short of that, you can always *create* your own cases and just work through them. Simply deleting files off, encrypting them without looking at the password, etc will give you practice. While I don't condone pirating software, there are a lot of sites out there that will teach you techniques to using a hex editor to manipulate registration access or even customizing applications - all which will give you hands on experience with a lot of useful tools.

Be creative.

Prickaerts

Administrator
Jan 2, 2006
Oh,

And check out this site:

w w w.opensourceforensics.org/

It has several references to test images focusing on carving tools for example, or specific file system layouts.
For reference I highly recommend Brian Carriers File system Forensic book.

Chris

About us

• Our community began in 2004. Since this time, we have grown to have over 29,000+ members within the DFIR & Cyber Security community.