Transitioning from LE into Forensics (closed)

• Be a Contributor Contest – starting January 25th, 2019! “Ask something. Share something. Like something.” Get rewarded by our great sponsors!

[More info here]
Status
Not open for further replies.

herodog

Dec 17, 2007
Good morning everyone-

Here's my situation; I'm hoping that you might be able to offer me some guidance.

I am currently a police officer, and have been for 5 years. Prior to that I completed a 1.5 yr investigative internship with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms.

In terms of education, I have a BA in Criminal Justice/Emergency Management, and have several graduate classes under my belt in the area of Litigation Support, Rules of Procedure and Evidence, etc.

What I've been looking for is a way to transition from my current career into some aspect of computer forensic or info security. I've been looking into several programs, one of which is through a local community college, that is an authorized CCE training program.

Considering my background and experience, would the CCE designation be enough to allow me to 'break into' the field and get going in the industry?

Any comments and guidance are welcome, and I look forward to conversing about this, as well as other topics, with you all!

Thanks!

Dec 31, 2006
Since you are already on the LE side I would recommend getting as much training as you can from NW3C, IACIS, et al and get the LE discount on some of the basic software and hardware before jumping into the private sector. DoDForensics has written numerous posts on this topic as well. A search by user name in this sub-forum should provide some good guidance.

Dec 27, 2006
You don't say where you are located. If you are near a Regional Computer Forensic Laboratory run by the FBI it might be as easy as working as LE for a participating agency.